OMG! Lisa came in today with “The Knitter’s Book of Wool” and announced she was ready to begin this month’s knit-a-long…and the date hit me like the coming of the dawn! I don’t know where time gets to…honestly, I was so busy getting the “event” together, that the new KAL completely slipped what’s left of my so-called mind. So, after debate and discussion and some gnashing of teeth here is the new kal. I hope you enjoyed the Lillia Hyrna Shawl, because now we move on to a smaller size project.

Today, Lisa and I cast on the Nara Scarf (above in “The Knitter’s Book of Wool”). Lisa is using a Farmhouse Yarn made of cotton/silk/wool and hand-dyed in a pale robin’s egg blue. This yarn is a heavy worsted weight yarn and resembles the yarn in the photo above. My scarf is cast on above in Abstract Fiber’s Merino/Tencel sock yarn on the same size needle Lisa is using (US6/4mm). We took a photo so you can see the very different looks this scarf can have depending on your choice of fiber and needle size.

Lisa's scarf top/Abstract Fibers scarf bottom

Having worked through charts A and B together, Lisa and I found a few comments to be in order. We are both distressed by pattern writers who use one symbol to mean two things. This is just unfair and sooooo not nice. It makes me grateful that in music one symbol means one direction…the end. I will be so glad when charting symbols become more standardized. With that in mind, for chart A to make your life easier, on all the wrong side rows you might consider filling in the blank squares with a letter “p” to remind you to purl. I am so used to a . or a – meaning to purl, that using the box to mean one thing on one side (RS) and another on the (WS) is just like giving me a mind swirly…so not fair.

The edging stitch works great in terms of the edge NOT ROLLING. That said, Lisa and I read the directions differently enough…this edging is a slip-stitch type rib. You slip some sts with the yarn held in front. AFTER YOU DO THIS MOVE YOUR YARN BETWEEN THE NEEDLES TO THE BACK OF YOUR WORK — not over your needle…this is not a yarn over. This stitch IS LIKE doing linen stitch. What does all this finagling accomplish? The knit and purl stitches balance each other and this is what prevents the edge from rolling. NO STITCH: this is put in the chart because you will increase from the initial 35 sts to 47 sts while you complete chart A. Putting those dark squares in gives the room to later account for the added sts and keep the chart tidy, with all the rows lined up.

One final note for today: All the abbreviations and techniques (like centered Double decrease) are explained in the back of the book. Do not despair…it’s all there! Be sure to check the website I gave you the link for (in last month’s KAL) for any corrections that I may have missed. Above all, have fun with this pattern, modify it to suit your whims and pleasure, and knit it in a color that makes your heart smile! Take care and be courageous!xox m.e.

tomorrow I will turn this into an “official page” and give a photo talk about the mysteries of the yarn-over! stay tuned!

