This month my dear friend Donna celebrates a landmark birthday…so if you see her, wish her well!  Happy Birthday Donna!  And yes, know that I will find a way to text, email or in some perverse way torture you in a most unexpected but loving way!  You never know, Donna, where it will come from…but find you I will!  Mwahahahahahahaha!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

 

This is a photo of my current mind-numbing project.  Several of us began this faroese shawl earlier this Spring.  It is in the Myrna Stahman book, and is called: Josephine.  I absolutely love this pinwheel lace…one of my all time favorites.  It is a multiple of 20 stitches and has a twenty row repeat.  There are three main sections to the shawl and the beginning of each section is different from how it ends.  Even with strict attention, this shawl has proven a challenge.  Today, with the help of one of my favorite knitting tools, I was able to simplify things a bit and make the knitting process for this shawl more tenable.  STITCH-MARKERS!!!  Place them every twenty stitches and add new ones in as the increases add a new complete section.  Today, instead of two or just four rows, I was able to complete almost ten rows.  I am just skippy-hippy-dippy happy!  Hooray!

 

Here are some photos of the needle-felting class I wrote about in yesterday’s blog.  I encouraged people to make a scarf ahead of time, to which they could needle-felt the flowers as we made them during class.  The photo above is Lourde’s rose bud, and following is Debbie Branning’s scarf with bunches of flowers:

  There are still two kits available for anyone interested, complete with instructions.  All you need to provide is your effort and imagination!

Today some new alpaca arived from Woodstock Knits and the yarn is sensational and well-priced.  Tomorrow the studio will be closed but we will be open with regular hours this Friday and throughout the weekend.  Feel free to call with any questions, or leave a message on the answering machine and I will get back to you.  Take care and be fierce in your love of all things fiber!xox m.e.

