This is the beginning of a sweater journey Suzy and I are taking together…and anyone else who wants to come along for the ride.  Here’s the story:  Suzy has been wanting FOR THE LONGEST TIME to do a fairisle project.  She finally found a great project in the winter 2009 issue of Interweave Knits…the only problem was Suzy would like to knit the sweater from the top down and this pattern is written from the bottom up.  I can’t imagine why, but she just glared at me when I said: so just do the pattern backwards.  However, that is exactly what we are doing.  At the end of this journey we will come out each a sweater richer and also have a generic worsted weight top-down sweater pattern for repeat use.  Sounds like a good deal to me.  This pattern is especially nice because it includes short row shaping so the back of the sweater neckline is about 1/2 inch higher than the front neckline.

back of the neckline of the yoke

This shaping gives the sweater a professional look and a greatly improved fit.  Here is the front of the sweater:

see how the front is a little lower than it looked in the back view?

So we are knitting a little at a time and doing fittings as we go.  This is the most direct advantage of a top down sweater…you can try it on as you make it.  Here is Suzy modeling my yoke:

Thank Suzy for this KAL idea!

This version is being knit in Fiber Isle’s Road to China…this has been hidden in my stash for a couple of years now just waiting for the right project.  Suzy is working with Swan’s Island merino wool in Gray, Teal, Yellow and Red and it is just beautiful.  I am hoping to have a picture for you of her colorway soon…like tomorrow.  If you are interested in joining in, just come to class.  All the supplies you need are here; or if you have yarn you would prefer to use, that is just fine.   There are no extra charges for bringing your own yarn.  Classes remain $5 per 2 hour class…no need to call ahead.  Classes are everyday Monday through Saturday mornings from 10:15 to 12 noon and Friday nights from 7-9 pm. 

The daily lovebird update:  I am pretty sure when I get home tonight there will be 5 eggs — Helen was huffing and puffing this morning.  She and Henry are on those eggs too.  My husband is just going to PLOTZ if she actually manages to hatch a baby ( I personally think it is very exciting! )  shh!  Take care and I look forward to your next visit to Summit Yarn! xox m.e.

