We had a great time last night at our Friday Night Knitting Group!  We traded family stories, laughed over our own antics, and aside from Lourdes ( who was just too tired ) got quite a bit of knitting done.  I think that’s what I like best about knitting and this LYS — being in relationship to other people…comraderie.  Among other things, this comraderie makes me a better person.  I am more sensitive to how the things that come out of my mouth affect others, I am more able to admit when I have been an arse, and I am always ready to laugh at myself.

This morning, for instance, a newer knitter asked me, “Where did “Raglan” come from?”…and just like Cliff in Cheers I sat up and answered:  “As a matter of fact, the name comes from Lord Raglan who lost an arm in battle.  His tailor invented a one-sleeved shirt with this shaping over the shoulder…”, and then I heard myself and I began laughing at my moment of nerdom.  I later went to Richard Rutt’s history book and looked up Lord Raglan but the story is not told in there.  I don’t remember where I read this but I love the story…true or not.

My yoke top-down sweater is coming along nicely.  I am working on the sleeves currently and hope to finish either this weekend or early next week.  This yarn, Road to China, has an almost velvety texture that I have not encountered with any other yarn.  I wasn’t sure I like how the yoke came out until now.  The red zigzags are almost alive against the more subdued background and main color.  I am excited to see how the sleeves will work up…I want to end in the red instead of the main color…I think it will add “aliveness” to this sweater.  Here is a photo of where I am at now:

We are beginning a sock this week for our sock Knit-A-Long.  It is the “Estonian Spiral Sock” from the latest XRX sock publication.  This is a sock whose texture will show no matter what yarn you choose, but a self-stirping yarn or a yarn with big contrasts in color will show off its color best.  It is an easy pattern to hold in your head and fun to do.  I cast on last night and already have a couple of inches complete in the stitch pattern.  One word of caution…the pattern ends at the two by closing 12 stitches together as you would a hat.  Please consider decreasing this to 6 or even 4 stitches.  If the bigger number of stitches is not closed just right, then this isa recipe for disaster and a popped open toe, and stitches running hither, thither and yon…and yes, it will all end in muttering.  Here is a photo of my sock-in-progress:

Estonian Spiral Sock

Lourdes is nearly done with her Estonian Lilac Leaves shawl, Barb completed her Lasagna Noodle Scarf, and Dona worked at her EZ Adult Surprise Jacket last night.  I have mislaid my Lilac Leaves shawl and am about to go hunt for it.  Why, you ask, the phrase: “it all ends in muttering”?  Are you married?  Do you have children?  Do you have parents who no longer listen to you?  Do you have knitting that needs to be frogged?  If so then you know what I mean…if not, just wait, the muttering will find you.

Take care and enjoy this wonderful Autumn weather.  I am off to go hunt for my project…no, the other project!xox m.e. and Summit Yarn Studio  ;-D

