A book by Galina Khmeleva on Orenburg Lace Knitting

So, I hear through the grapevine that Johnny Depp was at Rhinebeck for the sale of Angora goats on Saturday!  At least three of our friends here at Summit Yarn were able to make it up to New York for this year’s festivities:  Martha (who was there for much of the week), Lisa and Donna.  Martha took courses and both she and Lisa met one of my most favorite knitting teachers, Galina Khmeleva.  In fact Lisa came back with a book autographed by her, and this is a book I keep in my knitting bag at all times.  Her teacher was Olga Federova, an absolutely amazing woman.  I love reading about both of them and their personal histories.  Two summers ago Piecework featured a shawl, Olga’s Indiski Shawl, published by Galina Khmeleva and designed by her mentor.  It was one of my most favorite knits ever. 

Lisa got into all kinds of goodness…including a yarn called Harmony from Still River Mill that I have already gotten on the horn to order some skeins of…once I touched it I couldn’t get it out of my head.  Martha found some American Wensleydale in a worsted weight with about 230 yards per skein.  We are comtemplating our options there.  Apparently, sheep cannot be exported from the UK, so they send semen samples and over here we are able to create animals that are 7/8 Wensleydale.  The locks are long staple with the characteristic sheen and firmness.  Just beautiful.  Lisa found some Australian Cashmere hand-dyed in amazing hues and that is going to become a Lily of the Valley Scarf because we think the nupps will show off the multicolors so well.  Lisa also found lots of interesting patterns!  Donna found a sock designer who I am anxious to see…she sells kits with very artistic designs…more on that tomorrow.  Here is a photo of a shawlette Lisa found for a song!

Hand-knit red wool shawlette

a must have book Lisa found

 

For my part, I began today by grafting the pieces together of the Lilac Leaf Shawl and I am thrilled.  I purchased the yarn at Purl in SOHO New York the last time we went in as a family for the day.  It was the only thing I purchased and I loved every minute of this knit.  We will be returning in December for our annual Holiday visit and I hope to find something wonderful once again.  It took me about thirty minutes to graft the stitches and I really enjoyed wearing this today…it was just right for a chilly day, very soft and snug around the neck and shoulders.  The pattern is from Nancy Bush’s book of Estonian Lace and is the second pattern I have completed from that book.  This is another book that gets a real beating in my knitting bag…because I love it so much.

wearing my new shawl

Suzy came in this morning and finished the bind-off on the lower edge of her Fair Isle sweater.  It is beautiful and soft and a nice weight.  We wrote out the sleeve directions and I figure she will be done in a day or two.  The thing we both noticed about this sweater is the relatively small amount of yarn it takes.  Mine took less than 1200 yards, which for my size is pretty incredible.  This is something to remember when you have a limited amount of yarn and want to get the most from it!  A yoke sweater is a definate consideration.

This afternoon was busy, busy, busy.  Those of us who didn’t get to go to Rhinebeck were in our annual mourning.  Those of us who did go to Rhinebeck came and shared with us and it was all great fun.  One thing that was nice to hear, was the number of younger knitters who went family-in-tow to Rhinebeck.  It was reported that this year’s crowds were some of the biggest ever.  This is good to hear.  We all care very much about perpetuating the hand-arts.  It is reassuring to know they will continue on for at least another generation.  I know my cats wouldn’t have it any other way.

Take care and I look forward to seeing you on this Saturday at our Yarn-Tasting Event!xox m.e. and Summit Yarn

