THIS JUST IN!

We have the latest and greatest in offerings for your holiday and knitting needs.  This week the long-awaited lace tip Addi click sets arrived and they are moving fast!  The case is awesome…so much so that I plan calling next week to order a similar case for my regular addi-click set.  Everything you could possibly need is right at hand in a small case.  The great wall of yarn you see in the photo above is the newly arrived Karuni Effektgarn and it is awesome to work with.  Kathy already purchased four balls of the Rainbow colorway to make a sweater.  I am plotting what colors to ask for when we reorder.  The lace weight Kauni, at 50g a ball and 300m a ball is…get this…just $6 a ball retail.  It is soft and feels similar to single ply shetland.  This is really a great value and comes in a huge range of colors.  The color card is here on the table and I am always happy to call in an order for you.  Also on the way are new bags for your needles from Della Q and some laceweight yak down (re: my pinwheel Josephine shawl) from Bijou Bison Ranch.  So, stay tuned and stop in soon.

edging being applied to my Josephine shawl

Speaking of the Josephine Shawl, here it is.  I am applying the edging using the Karabella Supercashmere fine in black.  I like the edge to contrast to the shawl…it is more visually interesting to me and goes with more outfits this way.  I also started using the Jacob’s wool Lisa gave me for Christmas last year…I finally found a worthy project for this splendid yarn.  I am using the Sahar Stole by Franklin Habit as a base and I think I will transform it into a vest by using one of the main stitches on the back and the other main stitch on the fronts of the vest.  I am trying to figure a way to work in the wensleydale from Martha.  Will get back to you on that.  I just love working with yarns that reflect the things I like best about each individual sheep breed.  Lisa and I also have a shawl on needles using Manx Loughtan yarn…need to get back to that.

one repeat of the first stitch pattern in Sahar...a very relaxing knit

A reminder:  Summit Yarn will be closed tomorrow and Sunday this weekend so that I can attend two of Franklin Habits classes on lace knitting.  Come for a visit next week so I share about the experience with you and show me what you worked on this weekend.  If you run into trouble just put your knitting in a ziplock baggy with your name and phone number.  I will be back early afternoon each day and will be happy to rescue you.  Take care and I will blog tomorrow night after class!  Have a great weekend and go for a walk while this last breath of nice weather lasts!xox and hugs, Mary Ellen and Summit Yarn Studio

