Jacqueline Bouvier Stole day #2

Although it has been busy at the studio, since I am away next week for our annual family getaway, I have had time to work on this beautiful piece of lacework.  Thus far, chart #2 is absolutely perfect and I am enjoying the stretches of stockinette.  Mr. Habit has really outdone himself with this design…I hope he treats us to many more knits as beautiful as this in years to come.

Cowl made out of Ltd. Edition Bijou Basin Camel down yarn

Suzy made this easy to knit cowl in just two days out of limited edition Bijou Basin yarn made from Camel down.  It is soft with loft and a nice hand; really a pleasure to knit with.  The pattern is free with the purchase of the yarn and one skein will make this quick and wearable cowl.  This has been a very popular yarn at the studio and I invite you to try it while supplies last.

As we near Thanksgiving, I find myself every year contemplating life, its challenges and of course, gratitude.  The 17th of this month is the day my first child was born.  He lived a little longer than a month and just was not meant to be here with us for very long.  These challenges are life-altering.  The pain fades but parts of me just will never be the same or capable in the same ways as before.  Fortunately, we were able to adopt our amazing son and he is the light of our lives.  Still, I am also very grateful for our first child, just in different ways.  Ten years ago I could never have agreed with what I am about to say, but now I understand that suffering is a necessary crucible for our growth as human beings.  Challenges are necessary.  Joy is indispensible.  Each end of the spectrum helps me better appreciate the other.  I wish you all a Happy Thanksgiving and peace in your hearts.  I hope for you happiness and the kind of contentment that allows you to weather the usual storms of life.  I am grateful for life’s many opportunites.  Do take care and travel safely.  Sincerely and with heartfelt warmth,  Mary Ellen and Summit Yarn Studio

