I made my scarf a little longer to see how far I could push the two balls of yarn.

This pattern is dedicated to my friend, Suzy Mikulak.  She loves ascot scarves and declares them Jaunty, hence the name of this week’s pattern.  The pattern is actually a great teaching tool to introduce the technique of cables to newer knitters.  I have loved knitting cables since I was about my son’s age (he’s 11…I’m way older than that now) and I still find cables and the labyrinthine paths they can trace soothing and fun to follow.  The cables in this scarf are two very simple rope cables; one is over just two stitches and the other is done over six stitches.  You can use a cable needle, or not, or try both techniques as you choose.  The directions are all there and this patten has been tested by seven years of knitters at Summit Yarn Studio.  Instead of a copy of my hand-written pattern, you will have to endure a typed pattern…all the love is still inside and I hope you feel it!

Thank you Brian for being the model again!

Once you get used to cabling, go check out Barbara Walker’s Treasuries; they are chock-a-block full of gorgeous cable patterns.  This is where Martha says:  Mary Ellen, volume two of Barbara Walker is the best.  So if you don’t have volume two, maybe you should put that on your wish list…or just go to Amazon right now and order it.  I have all four volumes and they travel in my car with me wherever I go.  They are an indispensible reference and make the best daydreams you could wish for…really.

close-up view of the cables and border

close-up view of the keyhole

JAUNTY SUE  Just click on the highlighted title of the pattern at left and the pdf file will open for you to dowload and enjoy! 

Off topic, but I must let you know about this:  in the latest issue of Twist Collective  there is a pattern called Kadril by Galina Khmeleva.  I went through my knit stuff today.  This is the fourth pattern of hers I have knit.  She is an absolute goddess where pattern writing and lace design are concerned.  Kadril is a narrow scarf using Orenburg lace techniques.  Galina expertly guides you through every step without a single mistake.  I am loving this knit and encourage you to give it a try.  The charting (and after yesterday you know how strongly I feel about good charting) is perfect, clear and unambiguous.  The scarf is done with a garter stitch ground and I can hardly wait to finish so that I can proundly wear it!  Pattern writers could learn more than a thing or two from Mrs. Khmeleva and she has my complete admiration as a knit designer.

Take care and stay tuned.  I have a couple of great surprises for you this month!  get2ntn!  theHumanLoom

