I blogged a few days ago about the three advent knit-a-longs on Ravelry.  Now they are all three on the “List” on the patterns page; in fact they are at the top of the list.  I am a sadistic, twisted soul and am working on all three of course.  They are each very different and I am enjoying them!  The first, and my favorite, is the Lace Knitter’s Advent Calendar.  This is a scarf and I am able to quickly knock out the rows each day.  I have completed the first three days of this one.  What I like most about this are the connected transitions between each lace pattern.  Here is a photo of mine so far:

Lace Knitter's Advent Calendar

I am knitting the above project out of Skacel Filigran and I just LOVE this yarn…it has unexpected loft and a hand as soft as cashmere and yet it is superwash merino!  The next project I am completing in TSC Dream, which is a lace weight merino washable yarn in vivid colors.  This is a much less intimidating project, and if you are newer to lace this would be the one for you.  The directions are clear, in big print and easy to read, and this is a pattern I can work on during the day when I am at the yarn studio.  It is easy to pick up and put down without losing my place.  Here is a photo (this is the english Advent Calendar at the top of the list on the Ravelry pattern page):

Kristin Benecken's Advent Calendar Scarf

The third knit-a-long is what people are referring to as the German Advent Calendar and is by Utlinde et al.  This is the one I save for the end of the day and savour at home where I can concentrate.  Yesterday’s rows were beautiful but a bit of a challenge.  I think the result is worth the effort.  See for yourself:

Adventskalenderschal 2010 Utlinde et al.

Again, the pattern directions, which are in both German and English are clear, concise and easy to follow.  This designer is very quick to add errata and make corrections.  I look forward to knitting more of her designs in the future. 

Jamie has completed her leaf scarf and here she is modeling it for us:

Jamie and the Vogue Leaf Lace scarf made in Frog Tree Picoboo

Suzy was in with several of her completed projects.  She is currently grooving on the cowl pattern that comes free with the purchase of the Limited Edition Camel Yarn called Gobi from Bijou Basin.  She has completed two of these cowls already and is making a third as a present.  Also in the photo is a scarf made out of Cheryl Schaefer’s Chris…love, love the colr pooling and the way the colors show with the texture in this pattern:

Suzy winding her next skein of Gobi

Gobi Cowl Pattern (left) and "Chris Scarf" (right)

Today, we sewed the buttons on Dona Bauman’s EZ Adult Surprise Jacket and it looks amazing.  She did a great job and I am looking forward to getting back to mine once the holidays and the Advent knitting are complete.  The photo speaks for itself:

EZ Surprise Jacket...a great stash buster!

Gotta go grab dinner before tonight’s class!  Take care, stay warm and don’t hesitate to drink tequila (but do not drive)!

hugs, theHumanLoom ;-D

