Ewenice wearing the newly completed FLOUNCE scarf!

Last week we received a shipment of Flounce in three colors: Brown/Neutral, Black/Grey, and Red/Black (perfect for Valentine’s Day).  While working on other projects, yesterday during my son’s basketball game, I completed my first Flounce scarf.  It was much more fun to knit than I anticipated and on US 13 needles, it really didn’t take much time at all.  The scarf’s dimensions are 4 inches wide and 83 inches long as a result of using JUST ONE SKEIN and ONLY 5 STITCHES.  That means, 9 or 10 stitches on a US 11-13 will STILL  yield a nice size scarf and look awesome.  (FYI: The label said the scarf  would be 4 inches wide by 60 inches long.)  Here it is on the manekin in the studio:

New Flounce Scarf at Summit Yarn

The other pattern that has been very popular this winter is the oversized cowl pattern I wrote for our Byzanz Yarn by Gedifra.  Using a US 19 circular needle, cast on 70 stitches and K3P2 for 15 rounds.  Bind off in pattern.  Bury ends.  Gift or wear and enjoy.  Rose, who is back and hard at work on an Aran afghan, did both…she knit a bunch of these as gifts and kept one for herself (which she rarely does).  The 70 stitch version takes two balls of this yarn, but if you cast on only 40 stitches a nice-fitting cowl can be made from just one skein.  Here is Rose wearing hers yesterday:

Rose wearing her Byzanz Cowl

Yesterday, I released a knit tutorial for a mobius cowl and it is getting a nice bit of attention.  Patti and I have both had a lot of fun with this pattern, and I hope you do, too!  Here is Patti visiting with Ewenice this week after our private lesson:

PattiMac kisses Ewenice on the nose!

The next square for the Arsenic & Old Lace KAL is typed, re-test-knit, and ready to upload this Wednesday.  I was on my old computer looking at photos of some of these the knitters here at Summit Yarn have completed since I wrote this pattern, and I still love it as much as when I first wrote the pattern.  On Ravelry, there are a few people working on this.  One person plans to make a smaller version and I applaud this.  As always, this is YOUR ARTWORK and the squares in this afghan can be combined any number of ways.  A couple of suggestions:  Use only the lace squares together OR Use only the knit/purl squares together.  Another option would be to leave out the insertions, for your afghan to have a smaller size.  The knitters who made this afghan all agreed on two things:

(1)  They loved the construction because just when they were getting tired of one stitch, it was time for a new square and new stitch pattern.

(2)  Every person who knit this felt the edging, which is knit on at the end, was necessary to make the afghan look complete.  They said  the edging was the final touch that really tied the whole design together.

Arsenic & Old Lace Afghan

Now I need to go do my work for Frog Tree yarns (test-knitting a new pattern!)…I just love saying that…I NEED to go get my knitting done!  Have a great Sunday and here are two pet pictures from yesterday at home (and to think my husband did not like cats when we got married…):

Daisy, the Schnoodle, does not like her picture taken!

Smidgen flirts with Gary from the cat tree!

Take care and hope to hear from you about what you are knitting in this BRRR! weather…xox TheHumanLoom and Summit Yarn Studio

