Today was another busy day here at Summit Yarn.  Our old friend, Frank Santoro (the first yarn rep I ever met with) stopped for a visit.  He lives in Connecticut and travels most of the Eastern Seaboard AND is just one of the nicest people I know.  Also in this morning were Denise Levy and her mother.  Denise loves to knit, especially lace socks.  She shared with me a look at a pair she recently completed out of Trekking XXL ( a great German yarn with a low price-tag, $16.50 per 100g).  This was a red tweed with a surprisingly plush feel once it was knit up.

Denise's Red Trekking Socks...just beautiful!!!

She is currently working on a cowl, the pattern for which she found on Ravelry.  Here is a photo…it is a lovely Victorian pattern that can also be found in Barbara Walker (volume 1 I think, maybe volume 2).

A "Noble Cowl"...pattern can be found on Ravelry

Today she also purchased one skein of Kauni to make Jared Flood’s Terra Shawl.  Here is a close-up view on my variation on his lace theme…I fell in love with the idea of bubbles at the time and the waves which the scallop lines represent in this lace variation…so I maxed out the yarnovers when I knit this:

Crest of the Wave Lace taken up a notch...

I did manage to finish Damson and keep the yarn usage under 600 yards.  I had to do some extra decreases at the end on the wrong side rows and I also did a simple crochet bind off instead of Ysolda’s beautiful bound off edge due to yardage constraints.  I also was just ready to be done and onto other ideas.  Here is a photo of Suzy modeling the shawl before it was blocked:

The Damson shawl in Saratoga and Cashmerino

That is pretty much it for today; except, my son has a little commentary on Ewenice and her advanced age:

Ewenice when she first arrived.

Ewenice in the sunshine.

Ewenice now.

Take care and remember there is class form 7-9om tonight.  I have some interesting teasers for anyone who wants to play!  with love, light and laughter always,

Mary Ellen and Summit Yarn Studio and what’s left of our Ewenice!

