This is the edging which ties the whole theme of this afghan together.  It is like the final dash of paint on a piece of Art, after which you know the addition of any thing else would be superfluous and without which the Art is incomplete.  I went through every book I owned before I could choose.  This edging is from one of Nicky Epstein’s wonderful “Over The Edge” books, of which I possess three.  I have never seen this particular edge anywhere else…and I have looked.  It is delicate and beautiful.  If anyone in any of the 37 countries who read this blog knows the history of this edge I would be very grateful.

It has been superbusy at the studio.  Both Jaddu and Eleanor have been in this week for a visit.  New sock yarn arrived today…the Flying Saucer Schoppell yarn in six awesome colors and it is flying right out the door.  The neat thing about this yarn is that it is dyed so that the striping/color pooling on your socks matches.  It is magic and I just love this!  Also just in the door are the long-awaited Chiaogoo Lace tip needles with their wonderful cord.  Currently, I think this is the best cord on the market.  We also now have half ounce packs of pencil roving for those of you into needle felting or other fiber endeavors.  ON ITS WAY are shipments from Dale of Norway, Farmhouse Yarns Bonnie Bamboo and a new company called: Pura Bella located out on Long Island (superwash bamboo/merino sock yarn, worsted weight silk and merino/cashmere…there are other yarns we will play with…this is only a beginning).

I have completed my first sock on Signature dpns.  I am completely in love with these double-point needles.  They are comfortable in my hand and do not create pressure points as some metal needles do.  The stiletto tip is awesome for lace as well as the cheaty cabling I am known for doing.  I want to marry them and have their babies.  They are worth every penny I spent on them.  If you know what size you like to work with and know you will use these, then get yourself a set of five.  I purchased them in the 6 inch length so that I could use them for other projects than socks or mitts (like a hat or a cowl).  These are the knitter’s equivalent of a bubble bath at the end of a long day.  Enough said.

Take care and let me know how your projects are coming along.  I always love to hear from you!  I am going to go cuddle up to my ball of alpaca.  With loads of love, light and laughter, Mary Ellen and Summit Yarn Studio

 

