Open Stripe Lace Pattern/Square for Arsenic and Old Lace Afghan KAL

 

This is a well-known variation on Flame Points, often “rediscovered” by eager knitters or by knitters who just fall into the zen of the first part of Flame Points.  This is a documented Victorian design and is in Barbara Walker‘s Treasury of Knitting Patterns.  It is quick to knit and easy to memorize.  This is a fun stitch pattern to use with self-striping yarn as the delayed decreases create a bias in the fabric, making it more visually interesting.

Once you have completed Strip number two of this afghan and put the insertion onto it, then sew it to strip one and keep working on the edging I began you on a few weeks ago.  I really hope you are enjoying the knit.  I am loving the look of mine.  People ask me who I am knitting it for.  I reply:  Me, so I have something nice to drool on in the old folks home!

 

My friend, Patti Kleck's very tolerant and very handsome kitty.

My son's cat, Durga, the old man of our household, taking a well-deserved sun-bath.

 

 Take care, smell the flowers (if you have any) or go talk to the robins like my cat is right now in the window!

with love, light and laughter always,  Mary Ellen aka TheHumanLoom

