Dear Knitters:

GO TO FRANKLIN HABIT’S BLOG FOR TODAY AT:  The Panopticon Blog, and read all about his latest GORGEOUS lace shawl pattern.  I loved Giovannina but this one called, Anna (named for his mom) is now my absolute favorite…just inspired.  The pattern will be for sale…where?  I don’t know…in August…hopefully, in his online Ravelry store.  The Shawl will be available for perusal in London at Knit Nation and in Portland at the Sock Summit.  Oooh!  Aaaah!  Wow!

Today we arrived at the store to discover that it is NOT DEER eating my son’s Swiss Chard out of his garden but some LOCAL with scissors, who came over the weekend and cut off the top half of the plant.  REALLY?  We have to steal from a 12 year old child who is busting his butt and waiting to try this vegetable he has worked so hard to grow?  REALLY?  We only have one plant of this vegetable.  Of all the vegetables to steal too…I just don’t get it at all.

We drowned our sorrows in Salsa at Moe’s today at lunch and were rewarded by running into an old car that very closely resembles the one my father had in the garage when I was a kid.  It was a Model T…or something like that.  I loved going for rides in it.  Here is one of the photos I took:

The afternoon was quite busy with the yarn sale and all.  Both the Elsbeth Lavold and Debbie Bliss are popular and now that they are marked down…even more so.  Thank you all for the good response!  Martha and Jaddu came to visit.  Jaddu had cookies until she belched with aplomb.  Martha shared the two scarves she has knit from Romi Hill’s first book of small shawls.  Here are the photos:

One of Romi Hill's Shawls

 

Alcyon...knit from point to point!...in Pediboo...yay!

 

Corina wrote in from Holland and shared a photo of her afghan in progress.  It is just beautiful and speaks to how lovely this is when it is knit in multiple colors.  She still has two insertions to knit up.  She is hard at work on the glorious edging.  This photo already speaks to how awesome this will be on completion!

Arsenic and Old Lace Afghan as knit by Corina in Holland

 

Here is part of my garden at home…the Bee Balm in full bloom and the Robin’s are loving it.  I think they may have a nest nearby…I hope they have lots of healthy babies.  I love robins.  My father always was watching for them each Spring.

I am literally rows from being done with this baby blanket.  Then I am treating myself to one of those little shawls by Romi Hill.  I already have a ball of Schaefer’s Anne rolled and at the ready!

and here is your daily dose of cute…my son snapped this while I was having a nap: (nice to know there is always someone looking out for me)

The red shawl is Frog Tree Yarn's Alpaca Sport! Quick and Easy Knit!

 

There is also a mystery knit beginning August 1st with Stephen West.  The pattern is $4 for now and will be $6 after the KAL.  Go have a look on Ravelry!  I plan to play along!  with love, light and laughter,  Mary Ellen

