This pattern is the WHOLE reason I purchased the current issue of Knitscene Fall 2011.  However, now that I have had time to peruse the entire issue there are enough projects in this one issue to keep me busy for at least a couple of months (haha…if I stay awake 24 hours a day and do nothing but knit).  Really, there are at least three sweaters and two other scarves I fully intend to knit just in this one issue; making it worth much more than the purchase price.

Last night, around 11pm, I completed my version of Live Oak Shawlette.  From Cast On to Bind Off bottom edge I did actually knit it precisely as per the pattern (Donna, I am serious!).  Because I had 800 yards of yarn I did THREE (3) repeats of Chart A to lengthen the shawl, instead of just one repeat.  Doing that many repeats plus the final chart b, took a little over 600 yards of yarn (so one skein of Jaeger Spun Zephyr Silk/Wool will be enough for this shawlette).  Since I had yardage left over I knit my standard sawtooth lace edge across the top.  For the more courageous of you out there, if you do this with enough yardage, IT WOULD BE LOVELY to pick up stitches across the top edge, do one row of stockinette to make the stitch count right and THEN DO CHART B across the top edge as well.  This is a beautiful leaf edge border designed by Rosemary Hill and I cannot compliment her creativity highly enough.  I will use that beautiful leaf edge in other places in the future, like maybe the edge of a sweater, or the cuff edge of a toe-up sock.

Here are the numbers as I knit the scarf:

The beginning of the scarf and two repeats of chart a took about 400 yards of yarn.

Through three repeats took about 520 yards of yarn,

and through the end of chart b took about 630 yards of yarn.

After edging the top, as I shared earlier, I still had enough remaining yarn to keep in my stash for an emergency bind off of some future scarf.  I used FINDLEY, a new merino/silk laceweight yarn from Juniper Moon Farms, which will be arriving here in late August.  We will be having an open house to highlight this new yarn, with samples already made in each of the different types of this yarn.  The Open House will be in the afternoon-into-evening of Monday, September 26th.  You are all welcome to attend, so please put this important date on your calendars.

close-up of the expanded lace section of Live Oak, by Romi Hill

 

close-up of the top edge of my version of this shawl -- I used the same edge as in WHIPPED

 

shawl before blocking...note cats circling in the background...!

 

I am casting on the COLFAX SHAWL By Angela Tong next, in Zephyr, in a deep claret color.  More on this in future posts!  The UPS man (Andy) just came with the yarn for a new sweater design I have in mind and copies of Cat Bordhi’s Zebra Sock Pattern.  The pattern is beautifully done with great detail…no too much…just right.  If you are interested in learning her new heel with a minimal financial investment, then this is the pattern for you!  I also have the yarn for the Zebra Socks in stock waiting, if that is the version you would like to knit.  Just let me know!

and your daily dose of cuteness…this is how I woke up:

Nikkers and Sinfonia to my right....

 

Sputters to my left (Smidgen was sunbathing in the window)...

 

with love, light and laughter always,  Mary Ellen (stay HYDRATED in this heat folks…and pass the word along!)

XOXOX

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

