At Sock Summit I learned two new terms, suckage (referring to the tendency of a stitch pattern to pull stitches in tighter) and bloatage (the tendency of a stitch pattern to make a fabric wider/bigger than it would be in stockinette stitch as a baseline).  Who would think sitting all day would be tiring?  Lisa and I flew home Monday without event and went straight home and to bed.  Yesterday, I went to work, then straight home and to bed at 5:30pm.  I am still not far from beddy bye again today.  It was so much easier to go West than to come back East to home.  I feel like my brain is stuck in the twilight zone of STUPID.

Anyway, the studio was busy today.  The Omigami Heart Tribe met today.  Debbie and I got to work on the new Stephen West Mystery KAL.  He only released a small triangle which included a little intarsia and I have hopes for a bigger portion next week.  Here is a photo of mine:

Clue Number One of Stephen West's Mystery KAL

 

Lourdes is working on the July Summit Sock Club kit and it looks beautiful.  She had a Happy Accident with the pattern resulting in increased stretch and a prettier lacy look to the leg.

Lourdes' July Sock knit in Dream In Color Smooshy...every color is beautiful!

 

Corina sent in a photo of her beautiful completed Arsenic and Old Lace Afghan.  She made it with three colors and it is such a thrill to see it done:

Corina's completed Arsenic and Old Lace Afghan! YAY!

 

The sale in the studio continues.  Elsbeth Lavold Silky Wool is marked down to $4 a skein and all Debbie Bliss Yarns are 50% off suggested retail price.  Jean came for a private lesson and walked out very inspired afterward to create artwork with her knit felting.  She took advantage of the sale and stocked up on Debbie Bliss bulky weight donegal tweed…looks like she has some great ideas in mind!

I photographed the swatches I made in some of my classes.  It turns out Lisa and I got to knit outside the convention center in the evening and it was lovely.  I showed her how to knit bobbles without turning the fabric back and forth.  We also reviewed a chain edge bind off.  Lisa’s swatch, we laughed, looked a little like a Barbie bustier.  Here are the final photos of Portland:

swatches from my class with Cat Bordhi and Franklin Habit

 

Lisa's bobbles and chain bind off

 

The Convention Center in Portland Oregon.

 

We saw beautiful mountain peaks on our flight home:

And Jamie tried to distract me wonderfully during the Summit by sending photos of Black Stallions and shirtless muscled young men, as well as photos of my beloved Mimi the goat:

Mimi the Guard Goat...don't mess with this goat's horses!

 

And of course, there is nothing so sweet as coming home and being surrounded by those we love most:

Sputters gets a belly rub!

 

I am surrounded in my room by all the cats and dogs oh my!

 

Summit Yarn is also going through some growing pains.  Due to home-schooling course changes for my son and a change in his activities schedule (football and tennis) the studio hours will have to change just a bit.  Wednesday will become the short day that Thursday has always been and Thursday will have more hours.  So the studio hours will be as follows for the rest of the summer:

Tuesday 10:15-Noon, 1-5pm

Wednesday 10:15-Noon, 1-3pm

Thursday and Friday 10:15-Noon, 1-5pm

Saturday 10:15-2pm

for the remainder of August closed on Sunday and Monday (we will return to being open 7 days a week after Labor Day Weekend).

Take care and thank you for your patience during these growing pains!  with love, light and laughter always,

Mary Ellen

