Debbie Branning and I have been working together on the Stephen West Mystery KAL, which turns out to be intarsia…usually something I tend to avoid what with cats and dogs who steal balls of yarn and run with them.  Knitting a project with one ball of yarn is challenging enough, let alone three to four balls of yarn or more.  BUT, I had these four balls of beautiful Sundara sock yarn from her trip to Sonoma Wine Country just waiting for the perfect project and I believe this KAL to be just that project.  Of course, I am making it up a little as I go along, but so far I like the results.  If you are a member of Ravelry, you can see all the different ideas on the Earth and Sky Mystery KAL Spoiler Page…each one is more beautiful than the next.  If you are not a member of Ravelry…well, what are you waiting for?  You are really missing out on an amazing community of people and fiber artists.

Debbie's Mystery KAL through Clue #2 and just at the beginning of Clue #3, knit in Elsbeth Lavold's Silky Wool, which is currently on sale for $4 a skein.

 

this is my shawl with all four colors working their way through the knitting...Sundara Sock

 

Here is Lisa modeling her completed Peas Please! Vest, designed by yours truly using Orenberg lace technique.  Lisa knit hers from Picaboo, a Pima cotton and Bamboo blend by Frog Tree Yarns in a beautiful shade of Robin’s egg blue.

Picaboo Peas Please! Vest, pattern design and copyright by M. E. Langieri for Summit Yarn Studio

 

Martha and I have been hooked by Romi Hill’s Small Shawls, and here is the latest one completed, Merope:

This was knit from Abstract Fiber's sock yarn...both Martha and I feel that we would like to see the bottom lace edging worked across the top as well, so more yarn would need to be budgeted in for that.

 

I am working on a new shawl pattern for people who love working on straight needles only.  This will be knit on US13s with bulky weight yarn…chunky alpaca from Frog Tree Yarns.  However, until I have the sample done and the pattern typed up, you will have to come by the studio to see.  Soon enough I will be able to share.  It is long and just sits on the shoulders so nicely.  There is NO LACE involved and it only took me four days to knit the first one.  There will be an alternate with a lace edge, but first things first.

Debbie's Giovannina shawl is making great progress!

 

finally, here is the daily dose of cute:  the back story is that Daisy the Dog had the nerve to take up space on my husband’s lap…Sputters is trying to nudge her off his lap in this picture:

Sputters and Daisy trying to own Gary!

 

Take care!  Time to start plan your holiday gift knitting and there are tons of markdowns at Summit Yarn to help you!

with love, light and laughter always,

Mary Ellen aka TheHumanLoom

