Yesterday, Lourdes, Debbie and Lisa came by for a knit.  Lisa, God Bless Her Very Much, worked on sheep parts so that I could finish a shop sample ordered by a store in Connecticut.  Lourdes is back to crack mittens and they are gorgeous!  (Photos below…)  Debbie did great with the shawl by Tanis Gray (latest issue of Knitscene…the bulky weight shawl knit on US 13’s in three parts–body, lower lace edge, upper i-cord edge).  I felt the piece could be done start to finish as one piece in a side-to-side shawl.  I wrote it out for Debbie, explaining how she would have to match up the rows to make things work and she did an amazing and beautiful job.  She also has completed through size small of the Stephen West KAL Mystery Shawl.

Pattern cover from Lourdes' mittens...this can be found on Ravelry!

 

I love the colors Lourdes chose...the lighter color is a pale green, the yarn is DB Rialto Four Ply.

 

The palm side of Lourdes' mitten before she put the thumb in. For anyone who gets to take Cat Bordhi's class "Personal Footprints"...you learn a special trick from her in this class for making thumbs, afterthought heels and afterthought anything look especially good. Take the class!

 

Debbie's Stephen West Mystery KAL in Elsbeth Lavold's Silky Wool and Silky Tweed.

 

Debbie's Shawl from Knitscene....lace edge/body/I-cord upper edge knit all as one piece. Life should be made easier whenever possible!

 

I am just past the halfway point of the “My Kind of Saturday” cowl knit in Riveting and designed by IrishGirlieKnits.  I like the embossed look of the lace pattern, I love the stitch definition from the yarn and can’t wait to wear it when the weather is cooler because of how very soft and drapey this cowl is!  Come see it at the studio!

"My Kind of Saturday" cowl at the halfway point. Yarn= Riveting from Kollage Yarns (made from recycled blue jeans!)

 

I am still churning out sheep for customers and for Frog Tree Yarns.  If you have one on order it will be ready soon.  Here is the latest one I finished:

done in pink to promote the "Pink Project" a fundraiser for Cancer research...for more info ask me at the studio!

 

Yarn for Juniper Moon Farms arrives in just a few weeks!  I am trying to clear out older yarns we seem to be done with and have many markdowns throughout the studio and especially in the front room.  The next yarn I have marked down severely is the end of the Mission Falls 1824 Cotton…now $2.75 a skein.  It must go to good homes.  I have pattern support specifically for this yarn.  There is a little DB Chunky Donegal Tweed remaining, and other DB yarns as well, all 50% off.  The Elsbeth Lavold Collection is $4 per skein and great for SO MANY PROJECTS including the Dahlia Sweater so popular on Ravelry these days.  All books in the front room are marked down to cost as well.  I look forward to help you take advantage of this limited time end of summer sale in ways that are meaningful to what you want to create.

The great news:  The “Lady Jane Shawl” has been selected by Frog Tree Yarns as one of two pieces to be featured in the fashion show at the upcoming Northwest Needle Market in Seattle City this September.  This is a huge and humbling honor!  And, a reminder, if you purchase the pink kit of the Lady Jane shawl this will help raise funds for cancer research for the Frog Tree Yarns Pink Project.

now, for your daily dose of cute (thank you Jamie and Suzy for your contributions):

"Your knitting is interfering with my napping!"

 

Kristin Nichols warms up a lamb in her own colorful way!

 

Gene, the kitten gets his nap IN SPITE of his mom's knitting. Thank you very much.

 

Take care and I look forward to seeing you soon at Summit Yarn Studio.  There are only two remaining kits for this month’s sock club and more limited space next month.  Please let me know if you are interested.  I am always happy to ship.  with love, laughter and light always, Mary Ellen

