As you may have noticed we made our annual family pilgrimage to the US OPEN and had a great time.  The drive in and the drive home were both slow because of severe flooding in New Jersey around Route 46.  Even so, play was delayed in the Arthur Ashe stadium and we didn’t miss a thing.  I even found a few new players to root for.  I brought three projects to work on through out the day:  The Serenity Wrap for in the car, the “My Kind of Saturday” Cowl in Riveting for during the day and a sock just in case…you know, it could happen.  Here are photos of the day and the finished cowl:

I was no the only knitter in the crowd! YAY!

We were watching Harrison vs. Cillic first.  It took a little while to get my bearings and find the score board and figure out who was way down there:

Harrison vs Cillic (Cillic won)

Then we climbed a bazillion stairs up and down to watch Mardy Fish and then Sharapova.  Here is Maria Sharapova mid-serve:

Maria Sharapova mid-serve

And here is Juan Monaco mid-serve:

He also won!

The "My Kind of Saturday" cowl by IrishGirlieKnits from Riveting by Kollage Yarns. It was nice to work on even in the heat because of the cotton content. I finished this during the Sharapova vs Watson match.

walking out to our car....

the sky was ablaze on the way home last night...I thought this would make a great sock yarn colorway!

Suzy models the newest pattern by IrishGirlieKnits.

The original cast on for the cowl was 120 stitches, which seemed small…I am not petite by any means (wish I was).  I increased the cast on to 156 stitches and still had yarn left over after completing the pattern (otherwise) as written.  I love this yarn.  There are 350 yards per skein and it retails for $15 a skein.  One skein would make one of Romi Hill’s small shawls.  For people who have wool allergies, this is some really nice, wearable (and washable) softness!

Take care and please take time today to go to the Frog Tree Yarns website and check out The Pink Project.  The two people who inspired the concept and any person battling cancer really needs your help and blessings.  Please remember Summit Yarn is making contributions to the Pink Project for every kit sold…please come and do us proud!

with love and light, Mary Ellen

