The Studio will be closed from this Saturday, September 3rd until Sunday September 11th.  We will reopen with our normal Fall/Winter/Spring aka School Year Hours on Monday, September 12th (see you then Chris!!!).  The studio hours, as a reminder will be SEVEN DAYS A WEEK, with classes and private lessons (by appointment) on six of those days.  I reserve Sunday for a full day of being a mental moron…you’ll thank me.

Mondays 10:15 – Noon, 1 – 5 pm

Tuesdays 10:15 – Noon, 1 – 5 pm

Wednesdays 10:15 – Noon, 1 – 2:45 pm

Thursdays 10:15 – Noon, 1- 5 pm

Fridays 10:15 – Noon, 1 – 5 pm, class 7 -9 pm (I will be pouring Baileys or Wine Coolers)

Saturdays 10:15 – 2pm

Sundays 1- 4 pm

There are lots of markdown items through out the studio but especially in the front room.  Tahki Stacy Charles Cotton Classic is now $2.50 a skein to support face and dishcloth knitting for beautiful holiday gifts.  The remainder of the Mission Falls 1824 Cotton is $2.75 a ball.  All Debbie Bliss is still 50% half off and Elsbeth Lavold Silky Wool and Silky Tweed is $4 a skein.

New to the studio today: a huge shipment from Brown Sheep including some new sock yarn and a new laceweight yarn that is the bee’s knees!  Also a full box of new Opal Yarn arrived with colors you will not be able to resist no matter the size of your stash.  Yarn also arrived for studio samples which I will be knitting while the studio is closed but feel free to stop in and preview their beautiful softness and the books of patterns.  My sale cashmere arrived and the other order from customers should arrive tomorrow or Friday at the latest.  Now I have to decide what I am going to knit it up into…it is just YUMMY!

Chris finished her MayFlowers socks and they are beautiful!

 

The September Summit Sock Club Kits are completed and ready.  There is only one kit not yet spoken for this time…they seem to be going faster and faster each month!  Here is a photo of the top-down sock which is a fun, quick and easy knit (given the intensity of this time of year…getting ready for school and all, I thought this would be welcome).  The heel is short row in technique but in GARTER STITCH, so no wraps to unwrap, you just leave them be!  I actually wrote this pattern two years ago for a different group of knitters, so this has been test knit and approved by ten other knitters!  Here is a photo:

Yes, those darling boxes are this month's kit!

 

Here is a photo of the Marianne Isager Shawl I will be making my version of while I am away.  The yarn is a sport weight 50% merino/50% alpaca in an array of soul-gripping colors, only a few of which are in this photo:

The shawl is knit in two large triangles and two half triangles and then joined. Will let you know how this goes as I knit it while I am away.

 

and your daily dose of cuteness:

Sputters: Really? It's morning...arrgh...I am SOOO not ready for today!

 

with loads of love, light and laughter always, Mary Ellen and Summit Yarn

