Like most yarnies, who have a fabulous STASH, I also love to read and have stacks of books not yet conquered.  To that end, I have been picking up books from the stacks and trying to clean up the double stacked shelves.  The first one I picked up was actually out in the garage right by the door:  “Breakfast with Buddha” a novel, by Roland Merullo.  The first paperback edition came out in 2007.  It is currently still available and also available for a nominal fee on Kindle eBooks.

I loved it.  It was a delightful read which I highly recommend.  The book was funny, real, honest and thought-provoking; not to mention wise.  My favorite quotes were:  pages 172-174 about the parallel of the spiritual journey with the young boy who tries to learn piano.  Next:  “All that we are is the result of what we have thought:  It is built on our thoughts, it is made from our thoughts.  If a man speaks or acts with evil thought pain follows him, just like the wheel follows the foot of the ox that draws the cart.  If a person speaks or acts with pure thought, happiness follows him, like a shadow that never leaves.”  Also:  “What if you knew how to make it so your mind did not think for a few seconds, or for a minute?  What would happen then to your ideas and your opinions and your judgements?”  Finally, on the bottom of page 235 to page 236 are an excellent set of meditation instructions.

The book is well-written and lightened my days.  It made me more aware of my breath and helped me to remember what is really important each day.  Not my thoughts and opinions.  Not judgements — mine or anyone else’s.  What is important every day is the joy I fill up on just being alive.  Bring Joy.  It makes Life good.

with love and light always,  Mary Ellen and Summit Yarn

