This day is the day my son was born in Miami via emergency C-section. Both his birth mother and he came out of it fine. The adoption agency called me around 8:20 a.m. to say we should get there. I made travel arrangements, pulled my husband out of the OR, got us packed and grabbed the baby bag out of the garage. I also had to cancel appointments to look at smaller homes that day…I had really let this go and was getting on with life. Three days later we brought our son, our beautiful living child, home to the hotel in Miami with us. We were there for nine days until we received clearance to go home. It was a great start but the best was landing on the tarmac at our own airport…it was only then that I felt safe.

Brian, now a teenager, is thriving. He went off to two tennis linics where everyone gorged on the donuts he brought to celebrate his birthday. I worked and I think my husband was just glad for some space.

I met Laura and Sally at the studio. Laura has a friend who has walked the Camino. Hearing this and meeting her were confirmations of my intention to walk the Camino as well and listen to its lessons.

I am working on three new crochet designs. All of them are fluid and easy to do. I keep hunting for stitches that are memorable and give good drape with the right yarn. It is like digging for treasure.

I was still worn out Saturday from that allergic reaction. Last night, however, I felt much better and put in 65 minutes on the recumbent bike at level 15/25. I rode the Hill+ workout and put in 21 kilometers (13 miles) and burned over 500 calories. I also started building a Camino Playlist…first song: “Brighter than the Sun” by Colbie Caillet. If you go to iTunes you can hear a sample of it…just pure happiness.

love and light, Mary Ellen

20120320-092947.jpg

